Instagram said in a blog post, “We know that hackers sometimes delete content when they gain access to an account, and until now there was no way for people to easily get their photos and videos back. We will ask people to first verify that they are the correct account holder when permanently deleting or restoring recently deleted content.”
Here’s how you can restore deleted posts and stores on Instagram
- Open Instagram.
- Go to your profile picture.
- Select Settings, then go to Account.
- Scroll down until you see the Recently Deleted option, click on it.
- Make sure you have the latest version of Instagram.
- Select the post or story you want to restore, click on the three dots and select Restore.
Instagram explained that the photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos and stories you delete are immediately removed from your account and moved to the Recently Deleted folder.
Once users select the Recently Deleted option from the settings, they will see all the recently deleted posts and stories. These stories and posts will only be available to those users, after which they will be permanently deleted after the number of days below the post. “Posts will be permanently deleted after the number of days they show. After that, you will not be able to restore them.” Users can also choose to permanently delete a post by selecting that option from the folder.
To archive an Instagram post: You can also archive an Instagram post instead of deleting it. This will ensure that you always have access to the post and that it will be available only to you. To archive a post, select the three dots on the Instagram post you want to archive, then select Archive.
To archive an Instagram Story or Instagram Live: You can also archive an Instagram story or access Instagram Live for later as they are only visible for 24 hours.
- Open Instagram.
- Go to the top right and select the hamburger menu or three dots.
- Select Collection.
- Three point –> Select Settings.
- Save story to archive or toggle on to save live to archive.